TubbyPaul

One mans fight with his waist line!

Mud, Rain & Fears – My First Half

Posted by Tubby Paul on October 16, 2013

Sunday 13th October 2013 – Perkins Great Eastern Run in Peterborough

4:45am – Look at clock, roll over and lay there quietly, trying to not wake anybody up, listen to the rain against the window, it sounds heavy!

4:55am – Look at clock again, has it really only been 10 minutes? The rain sounds even heavier, all I can think is I hope it doesn’t stop me getting round the 13.1 miles. I had started thinking of 2 hours, but not sure if I should even think about it given the weather!

5:03am – I’m certain that is the rain easing off, I am so going to smash this, and blast round sub 2 hours.

shirt&shoes

5:05am – What am I doing, I can’t run a half marathon, I won’t make it round.

5:07am – Need to stop thinking, lie still and listen to the rain, the sound on the window sounds like footsteps, my footsteps pounding mile after mile after mile.

5:53am – Not sure if I snoozed or not there, but the sound of the rain is hypnotizing, relaxing, calming.

6:01am – The rain gets heavier on the window again, oppressive, aggressive, frustrating.

6:32am – Have I trained enough? I know it’s too late now, but it’s not stopping me worrying about it!

6:55am – Alarm due to go off in 5 minutes, so get up and go downstairs.

6:56am – Kettle is on and porridge is in the pan, porridge and green tea for breakfast, the same as most days, start to think if that was the right choice!

7:10am – Decide I can’t walk down to the embankment in my shorts, vest and an old jumper, mainly as the rain is absolutely torrential, so now it is panic time as I find tracksuit bottoms, my rain jacket and a bag to stash them in!

7:45am – Right, I am ready, I have paracetamol and Imodium to take about an hour pre race, just as precautions! I have a bottle of water, and I’m ready to rock and roll………..too early!

8:15am – Leave to walk down to the Embankment, the weather is horrendous, kind of wish we had picked a later time to meet friends, but I guess we weren’t planning on bad weather then!

8:30am – 2 hours to go, what am I doing, I’m not a runner! Oh well I will just plod round, get to the end and be done with it!

8:45am – Arrive down the embankment, it is wet, muddy, and pretty empty!2013-10-13 08.57.04

8:50am – Look at the weather, the mud, myself, try to work out why I am standing in the rain at this time on a Sunday morning when I could still be warm at home!

9:00am – Take paracetamol & Imodium, eat my banana.

9:10am – Meet up with some lovely people from twitter, chat, complain about the weather, pretend to be less nervous than I really am.

9:30am – The 5k runners are warming up, I am looking forward to seeing my eldest doing that next year! I jump up and down in time to the Zumba music too, as it is really cold!

9:50am – Still chatting away, have told everyone I am going to get sub 2 hours, and am now regretting saying that!

10:05am – Right, time to get the race face on, tracksuit bottoms and jacket into bag, bag checked in. Still wearing an old jumper that used to fit me at my fattest, it isn’t coming home with me today!

10:10am – Head towards the start, a little warm up jog, just to stretch the legs, it is cold this morning!

10:15am – Go into the holding pens, stand at the 2 hour sign, chat with a brilliant twitter friend who is also aiming for sub 2, and to others around.  See the 2 hour pacer, and determine to be in front of him the whole way!

10:25am – The tension is getting so strong now, 5000+ people all held in a cage waiting to be released, lot’s of “good lucks” and “see you at the finish” going around, the rain currently light!

10:29am – Fat me jumper comes off and gets thrown away, goodbye old Fatty me, I don’t miss you one little bit, and the next 13.1 miles will prove you are gone!

10:30am – After a countdown, the starter pistol goes, and………we don’t move! It takes a while to get this many people over the start line, which is why we have timing chips on our legs!PGEG0135

10:35am – I’m out, I’m doing it, I am a runner, I am loving the crowd cheering me on, I feel great, I am being careful not to get carried away with my speed, and try to settle into a rhythm.

10:45 am – Still going strong, running a little faster than I planned, but feeling great, keep looking back over my shoulder, no sign of the 2 hour marker, which means I am well in on my time.

11:00am – The rain has been really heavy, but actually quite nice and cooling, still going far quicker than I had planned to, but still feeling good.

11:15am – Starting to realize I won’t be able to make it all the way at this pace, keep trying to ease off, but keep creeping back up again! Think the average pace is bob on, just wish I could get it a steady state!

11:34am – Half way, in under an hour, I am so happy, and feeling strong!

11:40am – Getting very warm now, wish that rain would come back! right calf and ankle starting to feel a little tight, ignore it and carry on.

12:00pm – Right that’s it, I’m not going to make 2 hours, I am knackered, I drop back on my pace and then have to have a little word with myself,  something along the lines of “That’s right Fatty, it’s getting a little difficult, you might as well quit like you always have in the past, at least you can say you had a go, people will tell you there is always nexc time, but there won’t be a next time will there Fatty, as if you quit now you won’t put yourself in this position again, now come on you idiot, some things in life are not f*****g easy, now pull your finger out, man up and get your arse over that line in less than 2 hours like you know you can!”PGEI0202

12:01pm – Arse suitably self kicked, i pick up the pace again, not to the fast level, but enough to keep me in the race.

12:14pm – 2 miles to go, less than 20 minutes work to do, my legs feel like they are made of lead, they don’t hurt, it is just almost impossible to pick them up! Cheers from the crowd and shouts of “KEEP GOING AIR FORCE!” mean i manage to some how keep plodding, I keep looking back over my shoulder, dreading seeing the 2 hour pacer catching me up, I sooo want sub 2, and the only thing I can do is keep falling forward!

12:29pm – I know I am close, but my legs are grinding to a halt, I can’t really hear the cheers now, not really aware of my surroundings, just know I have to keep going.

12:31pm – Get overtaken by a guy with an emu outfit! Well done on your effort mate, but you did proper crush my soul at that point there!

12:32pm – Not only have I been overtaken by a Rod Hull impersonator, I can now hear the 2 hour marker shouting behind me, there is no way I am letting him past me now!

12:33pm – I can not look behind, I know he is there, I can hear him shouting, I feel like I am in a horror film, trying to escape the zombies, only this particular zombie is a lot fitter than I am!PGEB3522

12:34pm – I’m on the home straight, the crowd are cheering, I hear the commentator make a joke about the RAF, I raise my arms in triumph, I cross the line, hit my watch it says 1:59:55!!!!!

12:35pm – I see my family leaning over the railings, they look so proud, I am so happy, I can barely stand, but I’m happy! A lady takes my chip off for me, and a man gives me some water, god it tastes good!

12:36pm – I go trough the conveyor of people, more water, a goodie bag, a t-shirt, a banana, sooooo good! I nearly kiss the man with the bananas, I don’t think he would have been impressed!

12:37pm – Get my bag, then manage to get out to my family! Lots of cuddles, lots of congratulations, now home and food!post run!

Later that afternoon, I got the email confirming the time on my watch, 1 hour, 59 minutes and 55 seconds.

I would like to thank everyone involved with the organisation of the Perkins Great Eastern Run, every single one of the volunteers, and everyone who stood out in the rain cheering us on, I genuinely enjoyed my first ever half, and the rest have a lot to live up too!

Ladies and Gentlemen, I am now officially a sub 2 hour half marathon runner, and I will never EVER again be the fat unfit person I was before, This is a true lifestyle change, and it is working, my children are choosing to exercise, they are choosing to eat fruit and vegetables, yes we still have treats, but it is all in moderation, what ever changes you make, they have to be sustainable, and the biggest change I have made is not to give up when things get difficult!

And remember, I am running to raise funds for the RAF Association, if you would like to show your support, you can here.

See you in the gym

Paul

 

 

2 Responses to “Mud, Rain & Fears – My First Half”

  1. Ah loved the style of this post! I was cheering you on as I read it. Well done on hitting sub 2 hours!

Leave a Reply

 
Jane Likes to Run

Dedicated to the struggles, joys and successes of running.

Girl On the Run

Publishing girl, loves stories, loves running. Signed up for London Marathon 2014

Cake, Bacon and Army WAGging

Welcome to my baking, making, wedding planning life

Gonna Move Till I Don't Jiggle

Trying to lose weight in my 30s so I'm fit in my 40s

Run5kaday's Blog

Daily distance running adrenaline!

fortyplusandfrazzled

Life really does go backwards at 40

Urban Running Girl

Spreading the word of URG

Jello Legs

My love hate struggle with running

Integrative Care Partners

We are a health and wellness consulting service for both patients and providers. We come to you!

Club FNH

A place to learn Fitness, Nutrition, and Health tips that you should integrate into your every day life!

hungry and fit

A young couple focused on great workouts and feasting well -- all on a low budget!

Making Healthy Happen

Food. Fitness. Family.

Contented Little Mummy

Parenting, thrift, home cooking and craft.

L-Jay Health

Nutrition and Fitness

fitnessphoenixx

My blog about fitness, health, nutrition and weight loss. Please join me in my journey to healthy living!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

