TubbyPaul

One mans fight with his waist line!

Sharing my first time!

Posted by Tubby Paul on September 25, 2012

Well I did it, and you know what it wasn’t THAT bad, no one stopped and stared at me, no one pointed and laughed as I went by, it was nowhere near as scary as I thought!

I went for a run outside!! Okay, so some of you are thinking big deal I’m sure, well to me it is a big deal! I can not recall EVER running outside of my own free will, without having been told too by my PE teacher in the early days, or the PTI’s in later life, and yes I have had some horrible flash backs to my old school cross-country, but luckily it was nothing like that!

Now, I didn’t go ever so far, but there  is a very real difference between running outside and in the gym on the treadmill, you have to think of slopes, dodge left behind dog muck, avoid where the path is being dug up, mind the little old lady walking her yorkshire terrier, and all kinds of other hazards you can’t anticipate. I think I set off a little fast, as I was soon huffing and puffing like a good un, but I was running…..outside!

So that’s it, I don’t know how far I ran, (I was out about 25 minutes) I don’t know what my heart rate got to or how many calories I burnt as I forgot to put my heart monitor on, I didn’t listen to music, I just ran……outside! It nigh on killed me, I got home feeling like death, my early faster than normal pace taking its toll, but I didn’t stop at all untill I finished the short loop I had planned. Ok I’ll admit, I did feel better once I had a shower, a bite to eat, and got my breath back!

So that’s it, the story of my first time, shorter than expected, and very tiring, but I will definitely be doing it again!

See you in the gym (or maybe outside!)

Paul

3 Responses to “Sharing my first time!”

  1. wartica said

    I agree; exercising outside is always a better experience:)

  2. I hate outdoor running but do it from time to time.

    Well done for not being hugely self conscious and giving it a go! (I’m not trying to be patronising). Now go to my blog and eat some cake.

Leave a Reply

 
Jane Likes to Run

Dedicated to the struggles, joys and successes of running.

Girl On the Run

Publishing girl, loves stories, loves running. Signed up for London Marathon 2014

Cake, Bacon and Army WAGging

Welcome to my baking, making, wedding planning life

Gonna Move Till I Don't Jiggle

Trying to lose weight in my 30s so I'm fit in my 40s

Run5kaday's Blog

Daily distance running adrenaline!

fortyplusandfrazzled

Life really does go backwards at 40

Urban Running Girl

Spreading the word of URG

Jello Legs

My love hate struggle with running

Integrative Care Partners

We are a health and wellness consulting service for both patients and providers. We come to you!

Club FNH

A place to learn Fitness, Nutrition, and Health tips that you should integrate into your every day life!

hungry and fit

A young couple focused on great workouts and feasting well -- all on a low budget!

Making Healthy Happen

Food. Fitness. Family.

Contented Little Mummy

Parenting, thrift, home cooking and craft.

L-Jay Health

Nutrition and Fitness

fitnessphoenixx

My blog about fitness, health, nutrition and weight loss. Please join me in my journey to healthy living!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

